Affordable Health Care…

Yes, I get that hardly anybody reads this site at all – after all, we deal with INTUITIVE INTELLIGENCE, which is a topic that practically everyone is unconcerned about because very few folks seem to understand the implications about how intuitive intelligence is more relative to world progress, peace and prosperity than any other issues. So let’s talk about a hot topic that people really are concerned about, namely the Affordable Care Act.  The first challenge that comes to mind whenever there is an opportunity to broach this subject with others is “are you for it or against it”?  My answer is that I am neither for it nor against it, and I am also for it and also against it. People will ask, “what does that mean”?  My reply is “I’d be happy to explain…!”  The problem comes when nobody actually allows me to get through my explanation, everyone is looking for the clues that fit their already strict categories of whether I am for it or against it. Undoubtedly, I am interrupted by the comment, “just get to the point already”, for which I rebut that if there was actually a ‘get to the point explanation’ then I would give one, but fortunately or unfortunately, there is only a “whole explanation” – and that is where this explanation begins.

My constant frustrated and truncated conversations with others regarding this hot topic finally made me realize why I’ve never completed a full conversation with others about the possibilities of a more comprehensive health care system – – it occurred to me that Americans are unaware of what a “universal health care system” looks like, smells like, acts like, operates like…. you get the picture.  The other factor in the way of Americans genuinely trying to understand some version of a universal health care is the quest to find the perfect health care system.  Well, there is none, anywhere — there are however, better ones than what we are proposing. Nonetheless, if what is being proposed here is all that we have to choose from, then we have more imperfections to deal with than any other systems whatsoever.

Recently I entered a local Pharmacy and parked on a table at the front of the store was an agent selling plans for a national HMO in conjunction with the new proposals for affordable care.  I approached her and asked, “what do you have for $26.00 a month and a $0 deductible”? to which she replied, “there’s nothing like that anywhere!” to which I replied, “well that’s exactly what kind of health care I had when I lived in ____________ and also when I lived in ____________ & _____________, so why is it impossible for me to get it here”?  She didn’t have an answer right away, but after a few minutes of contemplation, she said,”have you applied for Medicaid or charity care”? This of course came after I explained my monthly budget and what’s leftover for misc. expenses — expenses that are covered by what my paycheck gives, which incidentally falls very short of covering any amenities such as cable t.v., internet, landline phone, and zero expense for shopping for anything other than food and sundries — no clothes, shoes, eating out, movies, none of that.  Although I am just above the poverty line, meaning I disqualify for Medicaid, I am way below the luxury line, which means I am unable to afford Health Insurance.

To my surprise, this was the first time the conversation went past “for” or “against”, “afford” vs. “unaffordable”.  I raged on, “this is what I can afford ~ I can afford to work and be healthy, or I can afford to die.  I have ‘Death Insurance’, which is fraudulently termed ‘Life Insurance’, and my particular life insurance has a ‘terminal illness benefit rider’, which means if I get terminally sick and have been advised by a doctor that I will die within less than a year, then I can get 40% of my death benefit options while I’m still alive so that I can have something to live on before I leave my beneficiary something to do with my subsequent useless physical body”.

What I’m unable to afford is “health insurance” and here’s why:  Even if I pillage my meager food budget to pay for health insurance, the facts are that I go to the doctor on average about every 8 years for something minor.  If I am forced to pay for health insurance for the next 8 years and then arrive at some doctor’s office only to have to pay a deductible, then that is really unaffordable health care for someone like myself who essentially will be banned from using my own health care benefits – I’d just be giving money to an HMO that already has lots of money while I starve to death, and why should I pay an HMO to starve to death? duh!   This was something that I also explained to the agent in the Pharmacy, to which she unconsciously replied, as everyone else does, “well, the insurance is in case something more serious arises or if you have an accident that would require you being hospitalized”.  That sounds like sensible planning, I’ll accept that idea,  “But here’s why that sensible planning would still be unaffordable to me… in the event that either of those events would befall me, I’d likely be unable to work, for which I’d receive zero dollars on my paycheck working for an agency with zero benefits and who would never approve unemployment insurance, SO, even if I were cured and recovered I’d only arrive home to be informed by my HMO that they are not going to pay for my health coverage because I missed the last 1, or 2 or 3 payments for the premiums of my health care, SO I would have paid all that money for nothing and none of it would be refundable so that I could at least pay part of the bill.

Let’s move on to the real deal here, which is that I have delayed explaining, or rather defining what a universal health care system actually is.  For Americans, this definition automatically comes attached with the idea that “you have to wait too long for an appt.”  – and/or – that a political social system is necessary in order to implement a ‘universal health care system’.  This is a sad set of parameters for understanding universal health care.  Let’s nip a few things in the bud.  Firstly, it’s nuts to have a universal health care system, unless you have a universal living-subsistence system.  This simply means that if you want to have a ‘dole’ health care system, you have to make a ‘dole’ living system-budget that will support sick-recovering people — okay, here we can get to the point — we should have all been given an opportunity to cut a deal with Aflac, or something similar, before applying for “affordable health care”.  The next defining point is that our country would be under the threat of becoming socialized or communist if we have a universal health care system.  This is the most ridiculous claim because in fact, the countries that have the best, or better health care systems are democratic countries with higher standards of living and better versions of human rights and capital free enterprise. The truth is that human rights, freedom and free enterprise are necessary to support universal health care systems  — universal health care systems just fail to work competently enough for everyone in a sustainable way, such as in Cuba or in North Korea, and even if they places prove to have good health care systems, the people don’t have much of anything else.

Now we can finally get to the conclusion and definition of a universal health care system.

A universal health care system is one where you do NOT have to qualify, you do NOT have to apply for it, it is just available to you.  Who pays for it? Well we all do of course because it is available for everyone.  In the country of _________ _________, you pay according to your tax code/bracket, there are zero deductibles. The government foots the rest of the bill.  If you want fancier care, and you have luxury money in your budget, then you can purchase additional private insurance to insure that you will not have to wait for an appt.  Who are we kidding? – there’s plenty of waiting time here too.  If you want to know what it’s really like under universal health care, then go live somewhere that has it and then make a critique about American health care, or the possibility of an American universal health care system.  Yes, I did have to wait until I had a foot in the cemetery – twice – before I would be admitted in _________ _________, but I was, I’m alive and there was zero monies to pay, which allowed me to get on with my life.  If I had to worry about receiving that care here in America, as an American, I’d still be paying after almost 30 years, and I would die paying, or my life insurance, I mean my death insurance would be stuck in probate, while my beneficiaries would have to pillage money from their own pockets to take care of final expenses.

The proposal for affordable care is either we have universal care or we don’t have universal care, just remember that universal care is one where we don’t have to apply because and we don’t have to qualify and we all pay something to the IRS through our tax code/bracket — how convenient that they would be handling it — and the gov’t foots part of the bill.  I’ve yet to encounter any information that says that the gov’t would foot some of the costs. This is the part that makes our affordable health care proposals so un-universal.  At this point, we are going to have to choose, but my choice, once again is either for REAL universal health care or none at all.

Leave a Reply

